Gourmet Time: A university student guide to snacking

I told you to standby for new updates…and you did! Which also means that either you’re just another spambot…or a legit human who didn’t have anything better to do. Meh, forget all of that (you would anyway). I love snacking…although that I always complain to my colleagues that I don’t have any bit of flesh left in me, I am also notoriously known as the owner of a stomach with a black hole-type proportion. I’m only 40kg and this is what I ate everyday (assuming that I still have some money left in the bank). Morning to midday: Something light (my stomach is vulnerable earlier in the morning). Afternoon: Rice for 2-3 person, snacks, 600ml of sugary drinks, snacks, capsaicin,  more snacks……and the list goes on till about 4am or so…

As a gourmet, not even snacks (junk foods of course) could escape my vicious food review….(assuming that….I have nothing to do)

1. Choki-choki chocomilk

Ah…the Malaysian equivalent of nutella (without the hazelnuts). I am no fan of the original one, it have a hard texture..not to mention the mess when you push the chocolate too hard up the tube. But the milk chocolate kind, oh boy, is a different kind of story. Smooth texture, with just the right amount of sweetness…the taste of the milk didn’t overpower the whole tube. For a price of a mere ±RM 1.30 for a pack of 5 tube…it really saves a lot of money for someone with a sweet tooth.

2. Sour Skittles

I still remember the first time I ate this last year. Felt like I chewed on razor blades and it takes me 2 days for my tongue to recover. Notoriously sour, and for the price of ±RM 1.80 for the mini sour skittles I guess it’s okay to have a cut on your tongue once in a while.

3. Maltesers

This one is widely available for university with shops carrying foreign snacks. When my sis came back from London during the Eid-il-fitr season of 2010, it quickly became one of my favourite snack. The taste of melted malt core inside your mouth when all of the outer layer of the chocolate melt down is a surreal experience. It taste like a combination of chocolate ball with the horlicks malties (which is famous during the 90s). And for the price of  ±RM 3.90, I tell you it’s not really that expansive for a pack of 37g malted goodness.

4. Chacos

Well, since we didn’t have nachos in Malaysia (do tell me in the comment section if there’s a place selling nachos) this is one is my favourite chips to date. Taste just fine as it is and even better with a dip (hey, it’s nachos). Not to mention that it’s filling and good for when you’re bored of eating grains everyday this is the (bad) substitute for you. Price range differs by state, cheaper in the peninsular….a bit pricey in the borneo region.

5. Diction chips

I’m quite surprised that this chip still survive. I mean, who the hell in the world get the idea to sell a chip with a dipping sauce. Genius I tell ya! Although the chip itself is quite salty and bland, it’s the dipping sauce which improves the taste by the factor of…urm….10 maybe? I can’t find the small packaging kind these days so I’m usually forced to finish the huge bag (which have 2 dips in it, nice!). Quite a delicacy once in a blue moon or so….Can’t remember the price well….but chips in Malaysia usually range in from RM 4-6.

Well, there you have it. Some of my (not yet completed) review of local snacks which is widely available in my campus. Next time I would review snacks from my childhood, and how it came to extinction around the 2000 era. Stay tune netizens.

About Dark Fent

............( The lines itself is enough right, no one bothers to know anyway) That is an enigma......

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Gourmet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

